Road Safety Audit - National Highways Approved Certificate of Competency

Classroom-Based Course

Cost:  £795 + VAT
Duration:  2 Days
Dates:  TBC
Times:  9.00am - 4.30pm
Location:  TBC

Distance e-Learning Course

Cost:  £795 + VAT
Duration:  2 days 
Dates:  Available now from any date to suit you 
Times:  30 days access to complete the course at your own pace
Location: e-Learning platform
Please see here for further detail of this option


This two-day training course is designed for experienced Road Safety Auditors who wish to obtain a National Highways Approved Certificate of Competency. The course updates Road Safety Auditors on a variety of topics in highway design and road safety to help them carry out road safety audits to a consistently high standard.

Students will need to be able to demonstrate the training and experience requirements detailed in GG119, as well as attending the course and passing the test, to gain the Certificate of Competence.

National Highways issued the DMRB Road Safety Audit Standard in order to demonstrate compliance with EC Directive 2008/96/EC. All teams undertaking Road Safety Audits on the trunk road network throughout the UK will require a National Highways England Approved Certificate of Competency. This course has been formally approved by National Highways to provide such a certificate and conforms to the syllabus for Certificate of Competency training set out by National Highways.


Aims and Objectives

The aim of the course is to provide UK Road Safety Auditors with a route to Certificate of Competency and to keep Road Safety Auditors up-to-date with latest developments.  The course also encourages delegates to share ideas and experience.  

Certificate of Competency

Prior to attending the course, National Highways require that Road Safety Auditors comply with the training, skills and experience requirements of GG 119 (formerly HD 19/15).  The information submitted must focus on work undertaken on the strategic road network or comparable roads. Road Safety Auditors who wish to obtain a National Highways Approved Certificate of Competency will be asked to undertake a road safety engineering based knowledge test. Those that achieve a pass grade will then be invited to submit design stage and Stage 3 Road Safety Audit reports for assessment.  A minimum of 6 significant road safety issues are required for assessment at both design stage and Stage 3.

For remote online versions of the course, the knowledge test will be completed over video conferencing. You will need access to a computer with a webcam in order to undertake the knowledge test.

How to book

TMS Copyright 2013